Book Reviews of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: Silver on the Tree; The Grey King; Greenwitch; The Dark Is Rising; and Over Sea, Under Stone 2

February 5, 2017
Spread the love

Then I moved on to other things before I had a chance to find the other two books.

I’d forgotten about this series until I came across a copy of The Grey King at a used bookstore. It brought back intense feelings of fondness and I decided to buy this set. I just finished Over Sea and Under Stone–one of the two books I missed in my younger years–and I was reminded of just how brilliant Susan Cooper is as a writer.

It is hard to talk about anything in this genre without comparing it to Harry Potter. I’ve grown to really like the HP series, and I think that Rowling’s’ writing has gotten better with each book–a fact that is perhaps as much a by-product of her intention to age the series with her readers as it is proof of her development as a writer. Cooper’s series, on the other hand, based on the four books I have read so far, is consistently top-notch from book 1 to book 5. All of the books can stand on their own as great reads, but as a collection, they add up to one a fantasy series that rivals and in some ways surpasses the HP series. At twice the price this collection is going for, it would be a steal. Do your child, or yourself, a huge favor and get this collection.

Book Review: I never owned it…

Rating: 5 stars

…but I spent many times looking for the next book in the series at the library until it was there….I checked them out one by one and was never disappointed in the outcome……a great read.

So, that is it for today’s article. Thank you so much for reading! I hope you liked it. If you did, and even if you did not, please share your opinion the the comments section below. I am very interested in what you have to say, it helps me to make my blog a bit better every day. Thank you again and have a nice day! xoxo


No Comments

Comments are closed.